A Student Prank

Usually my stories are true, but one time as a gag I wrote a fictitious dialog, putting one over my chaplain school supervisor and the other chaplain interns. I dated the dialog April 1st, but nevertheless they were fooled. The heart of the program at the school (called Clinical Pastoral Education) was for students to write word for word as accurately as they could remember, some of their visits to patients. Afterwards with our supervisor, we would analyze the dialogues and look for ways we could serve patients better in the future. As the true dialogs I wrote are too full of embarrassing flaws from me as a rookie chaplain, I now share this invented story to amuse you and to give you a taste of what it was like to be a chaplain intern.

                               The Dialogue

(Context of visit) I was on my regular rounds at Cornell University Medical Center when I visited Norman. The patient was seated on his bed, with a bandage near his elbow. As I enter, he is reading A Farewell to Arms. I notice a fixed look in his eyes. One of the social workers had told me that Norman is a “strange bird.”

Karen: Good morning. I’m Chaplain Kaplan.

Norman: Oh, are you and Charlie Chaplin related? Then you’d be Chaplain Chaplin. (K: I laugh. that SW had something there.) You won’t believe why I’m in here. It’s kinda ridiculous really.

Karen: No, no, not at all. Tell me your story.

Norman: You’ll think I’m pulling your leg. It’s not important enough for being in a serious hospital.

Karen: Not important enough?

Norman: I’m here because a cat helped itself to a portion of my arm for lunch. (K: I grimace  and say, ooh, ouch!) Now see that?  Here I am now having to comfort the chaplain.

Karen: (Oops. What went wrong here? I was trying to reflect back his feelings and show some empathy.) Oh, it’s not that. I…

Norman: Well, I’ll give you another chance. (K: How nice of this clown and out loud I say, “Oh, I see.) Anyway, this arm hurts like hell. And you know what? I’ve been a major patron of the Society to Prevent Cruelty to Animals for many a year. But after what that worthless scrawny tabby did to me, that’s it.

Karen: That’s it?

Norman: No more donations from Yours Truly to the SPCA. Not from this victim.

Karen: So you feel betrayed. Bit to the quick. Angry.

Norman: Sure! There should be a Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Humans.

Karen: (Is this guy for real? I laugh. I join in the fantasy.) I wonder how many dogs and cats would join?

Norman: (Is this girl for real?) This has gotta be the most unusual conversation I’ve ever had.

Karen: (as he dozes off, I make my getaway.)

_____________________________________________________

In my next post, I will follow up with a theological analysis and an evaluation. No, no, just joking.

 

5 thoughts on “A Student Prank

  1. Irving Kaplan says:

    I found your story amusing, and I might add even credible.
    Nice work. Keep it up!
    Irv K

    Like

    • There was a tiny kernel of truth; see under my reply to Elizabeth’s comment. Sounds like you too would have been easily fooled. Just goes to show you my powers of deception and/or skill at story telling.

      Like

  2. I look forward to your theological analysis and evaluation!! Seriously, ‘Chaplain Chaplin’, it made me laugh, and it was easy to believe it really happened.

    Like

    • I actually did put a mock theological analysis in the write-up for the student chaplains. It was hard to keep from laughing as I read it out loud to them. Actually, the story did have a kernel of truth, which inspired the rest. There was a young man with a small bandage on his arm in the hospital. I don’t remember what he said, but his condition did look a lot less serious than most of the other patients there.

      Like

  3. Deb says:

    I’m dying. And I love it. (And writing up verbatims… well… sigh.) But this was just perfect!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

