Ads Anyone?

WordPress tells me that “occasionally some of your visitors may see an ad here,” meaning at the end of a given post. As far as I know, to date I’ve managed to get a free blog if not a free lunch. I attribute this fine fortune to the nature of my topic. I mean, who is gonna advertise to readers who think facing death is a cool thing to read about? And exactly what would they advertise?

How about proven ways to hasten the end? Nah, that’s too legally risky, especially as laws about that vary according to where you live. Besides, I suppose WordPress knows that could alienate some of my readers for good from making unfounded assumptions about them. What they don’t know is that would also alienate me from WordPress as well! And funeral homes and the like are out, since again, my readers are scattered hither and yon.

Hmm, What about books on death and dying? Ooh, I’m so glad they haven’t thought of that yet. Shh! Don’t give them any ideas; I am not all that magnanimous. I have my own book I’m trying to let people know about, namely, Encountering the Edge: What People Told Me Before They Died (See left hand sidebar on this blog.) I will, however, do reviews of related books, which to me is fair play, especially if their authors return the favor.

I hate to admit it, but perhaps the real reason I can bask in ad-free heaven is that a would-be advertiser would not admire my modest number of followers. Tsk tsk! Those advertisers simply do not have any taste. Their loss is my gain, as this state of affairs is the upside of having such an intimate circle of readers. Actually, there is a much more valuable upside to this. I can be attentive to each of you when you email me and/or make comments. I truly do enjoy getting to know a relatively small number of people quite well as opposed to the dubious pleasure of amassing hundreds of subscribers. Come to think of it, maybe I should put a cap on how many newbies can have the privilege of following. Not only do I love the idea of going against conventional wisdom, but even more, dodging the advertisers for eons to come….Hey WordPress! Do you have such a setting?

8 thoughts on “Ads Anyone?

  1. DJ says:

    You have a small though loyal band of followers 😉

    Like

  2. Yup. Quality trumps quantity. And thanks for your loyalty in particular.

    Like

  3. Consuelo M Beck-Sague, MD says:

    I can’t wait to see your posts. So happy when I see them. Is your book available on Amazon yet?

    Like

    • Believe me, all of you devoted followers will know faster than I can say Encountering the Edge when the “book goes live.” It will be on Amazon. But better yet, you will be able to get it directly and with cheaper shipping through the publisher, which takes PayPal. In the meantime, if you are curious about Pen-L’s book selection in general, see http://pen-l.com/books.html . It is chock full of quirky books like mine.

      Like

  4. I think I have the same “problem” on my blog, and I don’t mind much at all! 🙂

    Like

  5. Elizabeth Spradbery says:

    I can see what you mean about the delicacy of advertising in your profession but advertising is much on my mind at the moment. When your book comes out (I have 21st April in my diary) do you know how to use Tiny Url to advertise on Twitter? I find it very useful. I’m looking forward to getting a copy; I hope it will be on amazon.co.uk as well as .com.

    Like

  6. I appreciate the advice. In addition to Amazon, I’ll be announcing how one can get the book directly from the publisher…. By the way, I admit an irony on this post about not having advertisements is that I indirectly was putting an advertisement of my own, i.e., about the book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

