In Honor of Offbeat Compassion’s Third Anniversary

It is quiz time once again! I figured this would be a fit way to celebrate the third anniversary of Offbeatcompassion.com which is July 4th. It is also a sneaky way to get people to read more of my posts, beginning with February 24th through the present. Here are the rules: 1. I will only count responses made to my email address, karenbookmankaplan@gmail.com  ( No one will be on a mailing list as a result.) 2. I will count responses in the order they are received. 3. The first 3 people to give me the correct best answers will win. The prize will consist of: being the first people in the general public to see a sample from my next book, The Curiosity Seekers. It is compassionate (what else?) science fiction, and I will send the sample via email as a Microsoft Word attachment.  Once I get 3 winners, I will notify everyone here in this introduction  that the competition is over, and I will reveal the answers. Update: as of July 11th, I have one winner. This contest will close July 15th.

 

A. This quote from a poem by an Iraqi, “allow my pen to slay itself,” refers to

  1. another quote, “the pen is mightier than the sword.”
  2. writer’s block.
  3. mental illness.
  4. a euphemism for a kind of grieving that has gone too far.

B.Even though I am a rabbi, I was hired by my current hospice because

  1. I can speak Spanish with  the many Hispanic Catholic patients they have.
  2.   Most of the patients are Jewish or agnostic.
  3.   They could not ask my religion due to fair employment guidelines
  4.  The chaplain’s particular faith does not matter. Spirituality is what counts

C. One of the more fascinating encounters I have had with a patient involved:

  1. Someone who turned out to be a distant cousin of mine.
  2. One whose occupation in their youth was as a clown in Disney World.
  3. A 99-year-old who could still play chess.
  4. A Nigerian nun in a convent.

D. “Do you think God should be fired?” Regarding that question,

  1. I asked it to help a patient articulate his ambivalent feelings about God.
  2. I would never ask such an irreverent question.
  3. A patient asked me that to see if he could shock me.
  4. I really asked, “Has God disappointed you?”

E. It is nonsense to say society should dispense with chaplains at hospices since the U.S. is more secular because,

  1. some patients are very devout; not everyone is secular.
  2. some chaplains are secular themselves.
  3. it is rare indeed to have someone visit a patient with no agenda other than to share in their suffering or perplexity.
  4. who can be the judge of who is secular and who is not?

 

 

2 thoughts on “In Honor of Offbeat Compassion’s Third Anniversary

  1. I missed this, Karen, so a belated Congratulations on 3 years sharing your compassion across the net! Good be with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

